megan j. peterson executive director

she her hers


Megan J. Peterson joined Gender Justice in 2016 with over 14 years of experience in progressive social justice causes. As Deputy Director for the National Network of Abortion Funds (NNAF), Megan helped to lead the organization through a period of significant growth including increasing the organization's impact by expanding and strengthening its network of grassroots abortion funds and increasing its donor and foundation funding. Megan was instrumental in NNAF's founding leadership in All* Above All, a national campaign to repeal the Hyde Amendment. 

Prior to her nine years with NNAF, Megan served as Director of Development and Communications for Pro-Choice Resources in Minneapolis and as a patient advocate at Planned Parenthood in St. Paul. 

Christy Hall Staff Attorney

she her hers


Christy Hall is a staff attorney at Gender Justice who represents clients challenging gender discrimination. She practices in both state and federal court, and has argued before the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals and the Minnesota Court of Appeals. Christy litigates cases involving discrimination in employment, housing, health care, and education. She has a particular interest in representing clients who have experienced trauma.

Christy graduated magna cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School and joined Gender Justice as a Robina Public Interest Scholars Fellow, a prestigious legal fellowship. Christy has worked for the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office on sexual assault and domestic violence cases. She has also volunteered for anti-domestic violence organizations the Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women and Praxis International. Prior to becoming an attorney, Christy worked as a computer programmer.

Dee Baskin Operations manager

she her hers


Dee Baskin is a writer, speaker, and leader with over a decade of administrative support experience. She is passionate about gender equity and reproductive justice, with a particular interest in the complexities that impact communities of color, low-income populations, and LGBTQ people. Dee also believes in empowerment through education, and participates in projects as both a teacher and a learner.

Dee completed an Associate’s in Computer Information Systems from Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana, a Bachelor’s in English and Public Relations from the University of Indianapolis, and a JD from the University of Minnesota Law School.

Jill Gaulding Co-founder Emeritus

she her hers


Jill Gaulding began her career at MIT, obtaining undergraduate and graduate degrees in Cognitive Science. She then pursued public interest law and has focused her legal career on understanding and eliminating gender barriers. She has done international research on gender stereotypes and family leave policies, as well as taught law at the University of Iowa with a focus on global feminist strategy. 

Both as a professor and as a practicing lawyer, Jill has worked to modernize the legal system to better reflect what cognitive science has taught us about implicit bias. Seven years after co-founding Gender Justice, Jill accepted a call to pursue a Masters of Divinity at Harvard. She transitioned out of her role at Gender Justice in June of 2017.

Lisa Stratton CO-FOUNDER Emeritus

she her hers


As an attorney, Lisa Stratton specializes in gender discrimination cases. She began her career at the University of Minnesota Law School, where she later joined the faculty as a professor and director of the Workers' Rights Clinic. She has won noteworthy federal cases on behalf of undocumented immigrant workers and women trailblazing in male-dominated industries, such as paper mills and processing plants.

In 2014, she was a key advocate at the Minnesota legislature. As part of her work leading Gender Justice's policy program, she lobbied for the progressive public policy changes in Minnesota's groundbreaking Women's Economic Security Act.

In June 2018, Lisa transitioned out of her role at Gender Justice and joined Schaefer Halleen LLC, a leading Minneapolis law firm providing aggressive advocacy to advance workplace justice.


Debra Fitzpatrick, Chair

Rebecca Lucero, Vice Chair

Tom Zachary, Treasurer

James Robins, Secretary

Susan Coler, Legal Advisory Committee Chair

Courtney Cochran

Amanda Furst

Tiffini Flynn Forslund

Elizabeth Glidden

Sasha Houston Brown

Esmé Rodriguez

David Schlesinger